# THE 2019 DONALD L. SCANTLEBURY Memorial Award

# FOR DISTINGUISHED LEADERSHIP IN FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT IMPROVEMENT

The Joint Financial Management Improvement Program (JFMIP) of the federal government is a cooperative undertaking for the Department of the Treasury, the Government Accountability Office (GAO), the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and the Office of Personnel Management (OPM). The JFMIP Principals are the Secretary of the Treasury; the Comptroller General of the United States; the OMB Director; and the Director of OPM. The JFMIP Principals work in cooperation with each other and with operating agencies to improve and coordinate financial management policies and practices throughout the government.

Since 1971, the JFMIP Principals have sponsored an annual award program directed to excellence in financial management. The award was established to recognize senior financial management executives who, through outstanding and continuous leadership in financial management, have been principally responsible for significant economies, efficiencies and improvements in the government. In 1981, the award was designated as the Donald L. Scantlebury Memorial Award in honor of the Chief Accountant of the GAO and the chairman of the JFMIP Steering Committee.

# AWARDS PRESENTATION

The JFMIP Principals will present the awards at the JFMIP Federal Financial Management Conference in Washington, DC on May 11, 2020.

# ELIGIBILITY

All government employees who are senior executives and have demonstrated outstanding distinguished leadership resulting in effective financial management improvements over the years are eligible to be nominated. Nominees from small entities with fewer than 1,300 full-time employees will receive every consideration provided they meet the selection criteria. Previous nominees may be nominated provided they meet the other provisions of this announcement. The nomination should be updated to include the latest achievements of the nominee.

# SELECTION CRITERIA

The Awards Committee will base its determinations on two factors: sustained leadership in financial management and specific accomplishments in financial management. For purposes of this award, the term financial management has been interpreted to include, but is not limited to, the following areas: accounting, auditing, information technology, budgeting, asset management, control and allocation of resources, cost reduction, financial analysis, financial systems development, management analysis, planning, productivity measurement and improvements, and financial and performance reporting. The Awards Committee will give substantial weight to sustained, high-quality leadership in financial management over the years considering:

1. Long-term or lasting benefit of the nominee's accomplishments and/or exemplary leadership on the efficiency, effectiveness, and economy of government operations.

2. Measurable improvements in financial management technology or methodology resulting from the nominee's accomplishments.

3. Innovation of the nominee's accomplishments.

4. The impact of the nominee's accomplishments on government financial management policies and practices.

5. The impact of the nominee's accomplishments on his or her agency's financial management as a result of improving human capital management.

6. The extent to which the improvements would have been impossible or significantly lessened without the nominee's involvement.

The Awards Committee will also consider a series of specific accomplishments for which the nominee is primarily responsible and where the results can be measured specifically in terms of improvement in service, substantial savings, or significant technological progress adaptable to a wide range of government financial management operations.



# THE 2019 DONALD L. SCANTLEBURY MEMORIAL AWARD

# NOMINATION PROCEDURES

Each nomination must include a copy of the nomination form below, a short biographical sketch of the nominee, and a statement of justification for the award. Including the nomination form, the nomination package must not exceed five (5) pages. Submissions must be in English and must be received on or before April 3, 2020 to be eligible for consideration. Any nominations received after the closing date will not be considered. For further information, contact Dean Carpenter, (202) 512-5188, or by email to ScantleburyAward@gao.gov.

Agencies are encouraged to use incentive awards program channels for solicitation and selection of nominees. No more than three nominations should be submitted from the head of your agency.

Email your nomination to ScantleburyAward@gao.gov.

# SCANTLEBURY MEMORIAL AWARD NOMINATION

Name of Nominee:   Title:   Agency/Entity:   Business Address:
Telephone Number:
E-mail Address:
Name of Nominator:
Title:
Agency/Entity:
Business Address:
Telephone Number:
E-mail Address:
Signature of Nominator:
Date:



# PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE DONALD L. SCANTLEBURY MEMORIAL AWARD

# 2018

**Kimberly McCoy**, *Commissioner* Bureau of the Fiscal Service, Department of the Treasury

Wendy Payne, Executive Director Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board

# 2017

**Gary Engel**, *Former Managing Director, Financial Management and Assurance* U.S. Government Accountability Office

# 2016

**Chip Fulghum**, *Deputy Under Secretary for Management* Department of Homeland Security

Mark Reger, *Deputy Controller* Office of Management and Budget

# 2015

**Brett Baker**, Assistant Inspector General for Audit National Science Foundation

# 2014

**Tom Allen**, *Chairman* Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board

# 2013

**Robert F. Hale**, *Under Secretary of Defense* Department of Defense

**Danny Werfel**, Former Controller Office of Management and Budget

# 2012

**Steven Schaeffer**, Assistant Inspector General for Audit Social Security Administration

#### 2011

**Peggy Sherry**, *Chief Financial Officer* Department of Homeland Security

#### 2010

**Earl Devaney**, *Chairman* Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board

**Steve Isakowitz**, *Chief Financial Officer* Department of Energy

# 2009

**Sheila Conley**, *Deputy Assistant Secretary & Deputy Chief Financial Officer* Department of Health and Human Services

#### 2008

Kathleen Turco, Chief Financial Officer General Services Administration

#### 2007

**D. James Sturgill**, Assistant Commissioner, Governmentwide Accounting Financial Management Service, Department of the Treasury

#### 2006

**Thomas Cooley**, *Chief Financial Officer* National Science Foundation

**James Martin**, *Deputy Chief Financial Officer* Department of Housing and Urban Development

#### 2005

**Patricia Healy**, *Deputy Chief Financial Officer* Department of Agriculture

**Samuel Mok**, *Chief Financial Officer* Department of Labor

# 2004

**Donald Hammond**, *Fiscal Assistant Secretary* Department of the Treasury

**James Taylor**, *Deputy Chief Financial Officer* Department of Commerce

**John Webster**, *Chief Financial Officer* Library of Congress

#### 2003

**Mark Carney**, *Deputy Chief Financial Officer* Department of Education

Jesse Funches, Chief Financial Officer Nuclear Regulatory Commission

**Barbara Hafer**, *Treasurer* Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

# 2002

**Dale Sopper**, *Deputy Commissioner for Finance, Assessment, and Management and Chief Financial Officer* Social Security Administration

**Carole Stone**, *Budget Director* State of New York

# 2001

**Larry Eisenhart**, *Deputy Chief Financial Officer* Department of State

**Jim Petro**, *Auditor of State* State of Ohio

